Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our character traits. To what extent do you agree?

Inheritance plays vital role in deciding characteristics of human beings. However, it is presumed that natural personality cannot be changed. To some extent, I do not agree above stated statement. This essay will consider human personality is variable and hence not constant. Firstly, each individual is different from another in terms of behavioural traits, furthermore, some people are introverts, some are extroverts. Inheritance and surroundings play vital role in shaping character. We are born with certain natural values and instincts which are difficult to alter but not impossible to change. Evidently, Siblings differ in personality traits and can adopt to new qualities while growing up. For instance, twins may look alike, but may not have similar behavioural patterns. Nowadays, there are many institutions and learning centres to shape character traits. It is often said that "leaders are born and not made" but on the contrary, there are many schools and universities teaching leadership qualities and various behavioural aspects. For example, armies of many countries do have training institutes to shape the personalities of army officers in order to make them mentally and physically fit and lead thousands of people effectively. Moreover, leadership is systematically taught and transmitted to the cadet. In conclusion, it is inevitable to be born with certain characteristics which are hereditary, but those who are determined to change these traits can do so with proper education and training.