Some people prefer to rent accommodations while others buy their own home. Does renting a house or apartment have more advantages than buying one?

In many countries, residents still prefer to buy a home, while the people of industrialized nations are seen inclined towards renting an apartment. I believe that renting accommodation has more benefits than buying it. Considering firstly the negatives of renting a house, an important one is that this kind of accommodation does not provide an opportunity for personalization. This is because the house is usually designed by the homeowners and any customization of wall colours and cabinets would jeopardize the terms of an agreement between the tenant and the landlord. Contrast this with homeowners who have the freedom to beautify their living space, both internally and externally as per their liking and requirements. However, the main advantages of living in a rented home are that they provide greater flexibility to individuals. Owing to increasing mobility, many people travel or even immigrate to another country for education or job opportunity, hence it becomes feasible for them to rent a place instead of directing their entire investments in acquiring possession of a house. Besides that, renters are saved from the expenses that are incurred before and after buying a house. For example, In California, the property tax and mortgage interest are higher than the average rent of a decent-sized apartment in the suburbs. In conclusion, I think that the advantages of flexibility and less expenditure that comes with renting a house outweigh the disadvantages of lack of personalization in comparison with home ownership.