Many people these days change career throughout their working life. What are the main reasons for it? Is it a positive or negative development for them personally and for the society as a whole?

The most part of the active period of people's life is spent building a career, first to make ends meet, also to have a productive and fulfilling existence. During this span, some people pursue a single path and stick to it, while others are more flexible and explore different vocation. There is a debate whether a switch in career in one's professional life is advantageous or detrimental. This essay will discuss the reason for career changes, its impact on the individuals and the community at large. To start with, a plethora of young adults that are commencing their professional life are in a dilemma of what career path to take and sometimes make random decisions without deep thinking or consultation. These sets of people end up getting dissatisfied with their employment and within a short time are already looking for new opportunities. The cause of dissatisfaction can range from incommensurate remuneration to unfavourable work conditions. For instance, the recent research by the labour institute in Nigeria concluded that there is a 70% chance that a professional that doesn't consult a career coach before selecting a career path will switch careers in the first five years of employment. Another reason is the advent of technology, which has placed demands for new develop digital skills. This new opportunity has enticed people into shifting from their initial career path to embracing the new wave. A classic example is the enormous data scientist vacancy available everywhere in the world today. Although, career switches have caused massive discomfort for many employers, employee's well being and job satisfaction is paramount. Job change for a myriad of people is pertinent to their well being both physically and emotionally. The society at large benefits from this as a lot of people are depressed because of their jobs easily snap out when they switch. For instance, the president of Liberia was a depressed banker before he resigned to do politics and suddenly had a new breath of life and now is a very successful politician. In conclusion, career changes are sometimes necessary as it produces more gleeful people who are productive and contributing positively to the society. It is predicted that the more flexible career changes become, the more likely it is that professionals will become successful because they don't have to pitch a tent in an unfulfilling career.