Many people believe that having a pet in the home, such as a dog or a cat, during a child’s first years of life is beneficial to that child’s development. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this belief?

Having a pet in the house is a trend now. Keeping a pet in the house during a child's first year is argued to advantageous for a child's growth. However, I oppose this view. In my opinion, having a pet can be dangerous and unhygienic for child's. To start with, Pets can be dangerous for child's. As a newly born child is an unfamiliar face for the pets, which they do not recognise as a trusted human. Pet can think, they are unknown to family, so they can attack newly born baby which results many injuries as well. To illustrate by example, according to a research paper from The Harward university, there are increases in the number of pets attack cases where the dog attacks newly born babies. Secondly, Pets are unhygienic as well. Child's can come into contact with many diseases due to dirty pets. They can touch dogs or cats which can be dangerous for the child's health and even sometime unknowingly they touch the pet's mouth which bring more problem. To illustrate with an example, I had a dog in my house and during my child early days my dog licks him once which cause skin problem to my child. To conclude, Having a pet in the house is a new trend in the modern era. This brings many disadvantages as well, which include dangerous and unhygienic for children and this can cause many problems for them.