Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed that the unpaid community services play an indispensable role in nurturing the virtues of a society. Many argu present reasons and arguments argue argued urge that the volunteering work for community should be a part of the school curriculum. Moreover, I also agree with the above notion because community work can benifit financial assistance in time of need benefit pupils enormously; it can help students in developing soft skills and also to become a unique candidate while applying to a college or a company. Education should not be strictly limited to academia, students should also be given a chance to develop people skills, and one of the best ways to hone these aptitudes is through unpaid community service. Serving those who are less fortunate, teaches us many lessons such as teamwork, empathy, and self-discipline. To illustrate, I personally volunteered to spend 6 weeks in Africa teaching disadvantaged children and this led to a much higher work ethic when I returned to my studies. Many colleges and companies are also increasingly looking for this type of experience. Most school leavers have the same grades and charitable works can help set you apart from the herd. For example, Cambridge and Oxford receive thousands of applications from straight-A students every year and can only accept a small percentage of applicants. What you have done outside the classroom is often the thing that differentiates you from everyone else and gets you that coveted spot. In conclusion, teenagers should be made to partake in unpaid work as part of their schooling because it will help them learn things they wouldn’t ordinarily learn from their teachers and it will also boost their chances of getting into third level education.