Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our character traits. To what extent do you agree?

I don’t think that our personality is predetermined by the genes. Rather, I believe the quality of a human depends on the environment, he lives/ the way he/she has been brought up. In this essay I would like to share some points to clarify my view on this topic. To begin with, the character is everything. A characterless one with tons of cash can’t construct anything: neither a home nor a business. How a person behaves, his or her way of speaking, politeness, social commitments and the like describe a personality. Its not the genes which form a character, it’s the circumstances which create a great/ worst person. I admit that some things are carried by the genes to the successor which includes the physical appearances and some hereditary diseases not the personality. Character as well as other mental states is formed within a person, inspired by the surroundings. Secondly, the family has an important role in the nature formation. Children are like sponges which absorbs everything around them, including the behaviours of elders. Like Son imitates the way his dad used to walk and dress. These are attracting and influencing them, which later becomes the part of their style. Thus, being raised by steady parents or relatives makes adolescents grow into responsible and compassionate young adults, whereas being involved in aggressive and traumatic interactions with elder members of their family, kids may develop such traits as selfishness, opportunism, etc. Moreover, quality is doing the right thing even when nobody is looking. To conclude, it appears utterly insensible to claim that the genes are responsible for one’s identity. In my opinion, the character of an individual can be modified with proper guidance.