Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Some folks and the data produces the fact that owning a car has become a trend and a status symbol throughout the world since about three decades. Due to this the roads of several cities are usually jammed due to the huge traffic. According to my opinion, the above statement is completely true. Further, in this essay several facts will be discussed regarding the above statement and also about the several measures which the government can take to discourage people from using their cars. As per the data, cars occupy a much larger space of the road compared to a two wheeler and in fact most of the time only one or two people are present in the car. Because of this reason, the roads get blocked with long queue. In fact, among the metro cities like Bengaluru, it takes more than two hours to cover a small distance of ten kilometres during the peak time. Eventually, the ministry can take actions to reduce traffic by planting metro lines in more and more places. Metro lines would be beneficial because it is not only faster, but affordable and also weather-friendly due to the presence of the air condition system. Also, the government can give tax benefits of the e-bicycles which are a healthier option for an individual to travel for short distances and also it is environment-friendly. In contrast, the government can discourage the citizens to buy new cars by increasing its tax amount. Moreover, establishing a one family, one car policy may also be applied. Hence, I conclude that the daily traffic jam is a huge concern for the entire world. The Ministry has to be pro-active in smartly planning and resolving this serious issue.