Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Congestion on the roads due to private vehicles in many cities has surged in the past 30 years due to increased purchasing and ownership. In my view, this statement holds true in today’s world. However, the government can take steps such as limiting the number of vehicles a family can own and making public transport cheaper. Due to the availability of the surplus amount of money people nowadays look for comfort and convenience in transportation, leading to a rise in the sales of the automotive sector and thereby traffic jams. Nevertheless, the government can combat this problem by just imposing a restriction on the number of automobiles owned by an individual. In addition to this, the road tax on a consequent machine purchased by the same person can be doubled in order to limit this. Furthermore, the legislation can lower the prices and improve the facilities provided by their own transportation services in order to attract more and more customers to pool together. This will lead to lesser automobiles on the road and thereby much less pollution of the environment. For example, when the democracy of my country faced this problem, it responded by improving the connectivity of buses and reducing the rates by 50%. As a result, within 3 months the proportion of machines on the road fell down by 20%. To conclude, due to the raised production of cars by the automobile industry in the past 3 decades, many roads in various cities have been congested. In my opinion, this is correct for the urbanised areas in the world. But, the bureaucracy can step up and make some modifications to their policies in order to counteract this menace.No one can stop this