Some people think that the government is responsible for looking after the elderly. Others believe that it should be family members. Who do you think should take responsibility?

It is always a debatable topic whose responsibility is to look after the older people. Some believe that it is the duty of the government while others think that it is the responsibility of their family members. I, however, believe that it is the duty of both for taking care of the elderly. On the one hand, it is the primary duty of the government to take care of the elder people. This is because they have contributed their entire life often by paying income tax to the government. Therefore, the authority should build new hospitals, well-qualified nurses, doctors and modern machines for them so that they do not have to expend from their pocket. I concede that it will require a huge amount for such projects, however, this contribution from the higher authority of the nation would give new life to the older generation. On the other hand, the major responsibility of the family member is to take care of the older member in their family. It is true that strangers or relatives do not take care of the elderly as one of its family members look. This is because they taught them good values and principles which would help them to be a good human being in the future. Also, they have attachment and bonding with their young ones and offspring. However, in my opinion, they totally depend on us because during our childhood we were totally dependent on them. It is our foremost duty to take care of them so that they do not have to depend on outsiders as we are only one to whom they love most. In conclusion, while some believe that the government should provide the older generation with modern equipment and qualified staff, other believe that its family responsibility to take care of them because they had taken care of us when we needed them most. Therefore, on balance, I believe that both play an integral role in taking care for the elderly.