Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the purpose of getting a university education. While most students think that going to university is the best way of getting a good job after graduation, some people believe that university education does much wonders for both graduates and the society. On the one hand, a university plays a critical role in training people for the workforce. It is true to state that because most specific jobs require students to have a degree from a college or university, as well as the essential knowledge related to their career fields, particularly in health care, education, aviation, and so on. In addition, there are high potential salaries for those who receive a higher education rather than others who just finish high school. Therefore, many people choose to invest in education to secure a better job. On the other hand, there are broader benefits for both society and the individual. To begin with, when attending a university, most people have to leave their hometowns for a different city where the institution is located. Living far from home will help students to deal with daily issues to adapting well in their school life, and that benefits them to be more confident and independent in society. Secondly, university graduates make contributions to the development of the country. For instance, doctors help to save people’s lives, while technologists build modern technology. Hence, universities do not only train citizens, but are also responsible for social progress. In conclusion, I believe that the main aim of university education is much wider than just improving a better job. To me, an ideal university would contribute numerously towards a better world.