The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

The number of cars has increased noticeably from 1888 to 2000, in Britain. This has lead to a series of problems due to the impact of vehicles on the environment and to the public. So, alternative forms of transportation were encouraged and some suggested issuing international laws to control car ownership. However, will that do the trick? Automobiles cause a lot of damage, there's no denying it. The exhaust that they release pollutes the air and causes lots of health problems, not to mention the problems associated with traffic and how the city roads are jammed with cars.That's why some believe that monitoring car ownership would help lessen these problems; introducing a cleaner and healthier environment, facilitating transportation, and improving the citizens' lives through making cities quieter and more serene. As much as this sounds perfect, one would disagree with such a measure. You can't control people's ownership of vehicles, that is an intervention in people's freedom and would result in many troubles. For instance, lots of businesses would be harmed by such measures, as lots of people will be less inclined to travel long distances to visit these businesses if cars were banned. There is also the problem of work commuters; some people have to travel long distances for their work where public transportation wouldn't be so convenient in their case. Besides, banning cars might not solve the problem after all, as public transportation produces as much pollution as personal vehicles. Which makes us question if such a solution would really provide the efficient results that we seek. In conclusion, the traffic problem is a serious situation that should be dealt with. Nevertheless, the measures that should be used must be considerable and convenient to the public. Radical measures might provide quick fixes, however the resulting consequences might be hard to deal with.