Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

The statement about the correlation between the growing number of cars and the undeniable worsened condition of traffic could be seen from many different points of view. As far as I know I strongly believe that this connection is absolutely a true one. What I mean is that I think this happens in many cities where people don' t really rely on public means of transportation all that much. Moreover, this phenomenon can be influenced by the size of the city, since when you have to travel so much from home to work every day you tend to use your car more. The same can also be said for wealthier populations that can have more that one car per family. On the other hand the government surely has a big role to play in the condition of the city's traffic. For example, they could solidify measures like cheapening the rates for public transport for everyone, not only younger and older people since they don' t use cars that much anyway. Another way to tackle this issue could be to improve the service like having more busses and connecting to the outer neighbourhoods too. In addition, if the aforementioned measures don' t work the administration could add fines for those that drive in the city centre even though they don' t live there. To conclude, I think that this is a very serious issue and people should try to be mindful about how much they use their cars in order to minimize as much as possible the amount of traffic and subsequent pollution in the city.