Most countries allow 18-year olds to start driving a car. Some say it is good to allow at this age. But others think that the age to start driving should be at least 25. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

In several countries, the legal age to obtain a driving license is 18 years. While some believe this is an apt age to start driving, others ascertain that the age limit should be increased to 25 years. I personally believe with the latter part of the argument and will shed light on both view-points a mental position from which things are viewed viewpoints with relevant examples. On the one hand, several teenagers are found to be reckless and careless in terms of driving. They enjoy the thrill and speed associated with driving, and usually neglect the basic safety measures such as wearing a seat belt and using the indicator while changing lanes. For instance, a study conducted by the Accident and Damage Control Unit in India revealed that most of the drivers who met with an accident in the year 2012, were In or at or to what place where youngsters of 18 to 19 years of age. In addition, it also showed that the prime reasons for the occurrence of these accidents were over-speeding and not abiding by traffic laws. Thus, teenagers cannot be trusted with the moral responsibility of safe driving. On the other hand, there are a few teenagers who do obey traffic rules and drive in an orderly fashion. Moreover, having a license at the age of 18 can help them seek job opportunities. Also, adolescence is the age where they can learn new skills and thrive to be better at it as they grow older. For instance, several youngsters without any formal education, have managed to get jobs as drivers in India, since they had a driving license. In conclusion, although there are a few advantages of gaining a driving license at the age of 18, the negative impacts associated with it overweigh the benefits. I believe that 25 is the ideal age to start driving, as individuals are bound to be more responsible and drive safely.