Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. Do you agree or disagree?

Every crime has a severity in terms of the country’s law, according to the offence a criminal is to be punished. Putting every offender in jail is not always the best decision. The effective ways can be educated to change a criminal’s mind and providing technical or vocational training to have some financial support. Prison is not a solution to the problem a criminal has caused to society; it was the mindset. Education in the form of punishment could do a better job. The main reason or causes of crime are poverty, illiteracy and unemployment. If these three things are focused and improved, every crime would be prevented. There are a lot of cases in history where criminals make more crimes after leaving prison. Because no counselling or education has been provided to the criminals, only putting them in jails would not resolve the issue. Job training means making a criminal financially viable to have everything by earning money. Shoplifters, for instance, grab the stuff to fulfil daily needs; this only happens because of having no money or work. Making a person employable or trained for a job will be a good reason to prevent future crimes. This training could also be provided with the jail tenure if a person is a murderer. Thus, a skill provided can be useful in the future as well as the criminal can also work and contribute to jail. The conclusion to this issue is not to put criminals to prison every time as this is not solving the problem to happen again. Impart education and provide skill training to the criminals could be a better idea in all the aspects.