Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Electrical energy has been the mainstay for most countries for many generations, but of late many homes are resorting to solar energy. This is becoming the trend for cost, regeneration and environmental reasons. Many people think that using the sun's rays to produce energy is more advantageous than relying on the conventional electricity supply. The essay will discuss these issues in detail. Getting power from the sun is seen by most as cheaper, safer, and environmentally friendly besides being a renewable method of generating energy. Aside from the cost incurred in purchasing the solar panels and setting up, with no cost involved in utilizing solar energy, the household can get a steady supply of energy as long as the sun shines. As the sun will always shine as long as the earth remains, this energy source renews every day and will not run out. In addition to this, solar power does not negatively impact the environment. Furthermore, using solar energy is safer as there is no risk of electrocution and other safety concerns experienced with electricity. The first drawback with solar energy is that in some countries do not have consistent sunlight throughout the year. Another disadvantage is that the cost of installation for the solar energy system is exorbitant and deters ordinary people from installing it. To sum up, the benefits of solar energy such its cost to maintain and operate, safety, environmental friendliness and its renewability far outweigh its expensive installation and the unpredictability of sunshine.