Some believe that it is the responsibility of people to take care of the environment. Others say it is the government that should take care of the environment. Discuss

The issue of whether the government should take more responsibility to protect the environment than the individuals is of great concerns to many people. In my opinion, individuals also play an indispensable role in environmental protection, as we are all living in the same world. Governments indeed have a great obligation to govern the environment. For one thing, the major pollutions are normally created by big enterprise and factories. It is only the governments have the power or ability to restrict or force them to control pollutions in a reasonable measurement. For another, governments have plenty of funding, resources and ability to cope with serious environmental incidents. For instance, 2 years ago, Japan experienced a significant nuclear accident, it is only the government has techniques and powers to stop and prevent the public away from nuclear radiation. However, the individuals' impact on the environments should not be neglected, because our behaviours seriously impact on environments. For example, if all the people in Australia save 1-litre drinking water a day, then we can save almost 20 million litre water every day to help 7 million people who live in water deficit environmental areas, as per person only need 3 litres water for life. In addition to this, if we are often taking public transport to go to work instead of driving a private car, it not only improves the traffic conditions in cities but also reduces the carbon dioxide emission and saving energy for the world. In conclusion, although it is the government duty to improve or protect our living environment, I believe everyone on the earth does enjoy an equal role. Therefore, the individual and the government both play a vital role in environmental protection.