Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays advertising is changing the way people use to market consumer goods and services. From our television to smartphones, we are exposed to tons of ads on a daily basis. These advertising affects our buying decisions, whether we really need it the product or not. Popular ads, including celebrities influence teenagers to purchase the particular thing as their idol is using it so they want to grab it as soon as possible. People are passionate about the stars so tend to follow them no matter how practically insignificant that item might is. Most of the time advertising creates a fad in the market, which refers to the trend for a limited period of time. Whenever a new product /service launches everyone wants to buy it as you see it everywhere you go or in the hands of someone you meet. For a particular amount of time people will react to this, but then they will forget about that product at all. Also, sometimes the product seems very beautiful in television screen that it drives people’s attention, in actual it might not be of the same quality, but as people considered it at the first time, they saw so they will purchase it. However, it’s not only the advertising that drives someone’s attention to purchase a particular good, but it might be because of the irrational buying habits or higher disposable income of a person. In conclusion, advertising plays an important role in the decision-making process, but it’s not the sole reason for the high sales of consumer goods.