Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Children are becoming less well-educated today as they occupy most of their time watching television because TV cannot take place in the book as learning material. I completely agree with this statement and I believe, though television sometimes telecast diverse types of educative programs, it cannot be used as a substitute for a book. Even though educational programs are broadcast in addition to entertainment on television, it is not as effective as a book. This is because children always allured by several types of recreational programs such as cartoons, movies or sports rather than academic programs. For instance, most of the time they like to watch fanciful cartoons where unreal things are shown such as a superman can fly or a Spiderman can climb up the wall. Consequently, young adults learn unrealistic things and shy away from quality education. On the contrary, books are subject-specific and have a great amount of well-focused information for children to study. Besides getting information, it also helps children learn to read, write and make decisions. So, television cannot be similar to books for learning. Apart from that, television kills the creativity of youngsters. They get ideas from the screen, which is a barrier to stimulate their brain and come with fresh ideas of their own. They always lazy learners before the screen. On the other hand, books nourish their brain and enhance their thinking power. For example, when students watch any educational program on the television, they always get ready solutions so, they need not utilize their brains. Whereas, at the time of reading book they try to solve the problems their selves. Therefore, it can be said that a book is more significant than television for acquiring proper knowledge. To conclude, children are getting a poor quality education due to watching an excessive amount of television because it cannot take the place of a book. In my opinion, as a learning gadget, television is never equal to books despite broadcasting some education programs.