Many people use distance-learning programs to study at home, but some people think that it cannot bring the benefit as much as attending college or university. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that the distance learning mode is very useful, especially for those living in remote areas, for those who are physically challenged and for those who want to do a job while studying. However, there are many advantages in actually attending a university, which would not accrue to a person who prefers to learn through the mode of distance education. Let us see how going to a university scores over the distance-mode. Secondly, one learns in a more disciplined atmosphere. One has to attend the classes regularly and in time. This results in a more focused and systematic study. This leads to better preparation for the examinations and consequently better results. Also, one can easily access reference books and other valuable reading material from the University Library. Apart from the academic curriculum, the student also gains by useful participation in other extra-curricular activities like sports, competitions, contests and the like. All this helps in the sharpening of his communication skills and the overall development of his personality. He develops better team spirit and learns the art of working with others in a group. Another great advantage is that of campus placement opportunities. Many reputed companies approach the good universities with offers of campus placements for their students. They are thus saved from the uncertainty and hassles of a laterjob hunt. To conclude, a university education is certainly packed with several privileges'