In many countries, people are living in a “throwaway society” where things are used for a short time and thrown away. What are the causes of this and what problems does it lead to?

Globally, people have a belief to throw away things before their life span. This trend stems from several reasons: manufacturers’ intentions to produce less durable products as well as people’s shortage of everyday life skills which lead to several environmental issues. One obvious reason of contemporary throwaway culture is the availability of one -time products. Now, manufacturers are focusing on the packaging rather prioritizing the longevity of the products. Furthermore, such goods are relatively budget friendly, persuading consumers to purchase frequently. Consequently, people are showing apathy towards using a same product for a long time. Unlike ancestors, people of twentieth century lack real life skill which is another significant driver of people’s wasteful buying habit. In the past, humans were adroit in repairing and recycling old goods to use several times. Conversely, modern generation is completely alien to these expertises, so they contemplate purchasing new products as an easy-to-reach option. Certainly, this shameless attitude fuels the soaring global environmental issues. Most of the packaging materials of consumer goods are non-biodegradable: plastic, polythene and aluminum a silvery ductile metallic element found primarily in bauxite aluminium foil which require thousands of years to degrade. The existence of these materials in soil hinders rainwater to penetrate through the ground; as a result, even a few hours of rain can cause severe water logging in urban areas. Additionally, electronic wastes explicitly contaminate soil and water bodies. The toxic chemicals from e-waste such as acid and lead gradually seep into the ground, polluting underground water, blending into the nearby water sources; eventually, jeopardizing the habitats of marine animals. To reiterate, living in a throwaway society is undoubtedly an alarming concern across the world. Hence, I would recommend, world leaders, environmentalists as well as individuals should be wary about the perilous consequences of this ill trend and will take immediate measures to counter this worldwide problem.