Many people think that every individual is responsible for their happiness, but people believe there are other external factors that influence us . Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many psychologist s and neuroscientists believe that happiness is a choice and circumstances cannot direct a person to be sad or elated. However, some believe, there are various factors, which can make a jovial person, gloomy. I am in accord, with former opinion, as I believe, human beings have power to control their emotions. In the composition, both aspects will be discussed with pros and cons. To embark upon, some experts assume, many external circumstances, are responsible, for a person to remain joyful or depressed. These may be, loss of job or a loved one, divorce, poverty, physical or mental debility and any kind of physical or mental abuse. For instance, people who just lost their only child, may go into deep depression, this may lead to various psychosomatic disorders. Also, patients who are on wheelchair and limited ability to do even their normal chores, can be anxious and without hope, leading to chronic depression. In such conditions, it is very difficult to remain happy and positive. On the contrary, few believe that our mind controls what we think, we can remain happy no matter what situations are. No circumstances or situations can make us loose our joy. One of the famous, neuroscientists, named Dr Caroline Leaf, has written a book, switch on your brain. This book explains that no matter what may be the situation, our response to it determines us whether we are joyous or unhappy. Furthermore, there are many videos, posted by a famous speaker Nick, who does not have arms or leg and he tells that secret to remain happy lies within. Despite of his impaired body form, he is more energetic and happy. He never regrets for anything. In conclusion, I believe, what we think in our heart, we shall be so, hence we have to choose to be in a state of happiness, no matter what comes in front of you.