People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working long hours has a negative effect on themselves, their families and the society so working hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, working longer hours has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although, this trend appears attractive, the disadvantages will be far more significant. There are severe impact on the employees' health and productivity. First, since average daily working hours in recent years have significantly increased to ten or even fourteen hours per day, modern workers would have less time to take care for their own condition. In fact, people who spend longer at work are more likely to suffer from various health issues, which leads to disastrous issues like anxiety disorders or even stroke. Second, by working much more than eight hours on a daily basis, the employees may frequently feel exhausted and make more errors at work than they used to. This means that, failing health due to overwork could result in poor work performance and low productivity. I also think that the extended hours of work have serious consequences for families and communities. At the family level, if family members cannot make time for each other, relationships among them are greatly weakened. For example, busy prevent parents from taking frequent family trips or even just having meals with their children, which could make the generation gaps be widened unexpectedly. In terms of community life, in order to develop their career, many people in large metropolis work more than sixty hours per week. They hardly have time for local community service projects such as conservation work or working with a charity, therefore, these people do not devote time to voluntary activity that brings benefits for their society. In conclusion, I would argue that working time should be reduced since the frequency of long working hours exerts an adverse effect on employees, their family bonds and their community.