Some people believe that people who read books can develop more imagination and language skills than those who prefer to watch TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that reading books is a better way for people to develop imagination and language skill, in comparison with watching TV. From my perspective, I totally agree with this opinion, and will give my reasons below. Firstly, people reading books certainly can enhance their creativity better than those preferring watching TV. It is undeniable that words enable readers to visualize what they read, and there is no restriction to such imaginative thinking. For instance, if a hundred different individuals read the book “One thousand and one nights ” simultaneously, it is possible for them to visualize a hundred different images of Aladdin, who is the main character in this story. In contrast, whether a hundred people watch the movie “Aladdin” on TV together, the only Aladdin that they can think of afterwards will be the one played by Mena Massoud. This demonstrates, I believe, that watching TV is overcome by reading books in term of the ability to stimulate one’s imagination. Secondly, reading books also performs an important role in acquiring language skills as well as watching TV. Although TV with sound effects can help watchers sharpen their listening and speaking skill, thereby improving language comprehension; books also has the ability to do this with the assistances of compact discs, softwares on computers or applications on smartphones. However, it is scientifically proven that people watching TV too much often possess poor writing skill as most TV programs are displayed in informal language. As a result, they always find it difficult whenever they have to write something academically, which could be done easily by the ones enjoying reading books. In conclusion, it seems to me that people should read books in order to develop imagination and linguistic abilities instead of watching TV due to the above-mentioned two reasons