Some TV programmes, video of violent games and other leisure activities are harmful on children. How harmful they are? What can be done to solve these problem?

Certain TV shows, violence in video games and recreational activities such as playing cards may prove dangerous to the children. Indulging in these activities may lead to health -related problems, and parents and government intervention could be the most viable solution to deal with these issues. The foremost problem caused by watching the addictive television series, playing video games with aggressive visuals and participating in certain fun games is the detrimental effect on physical and mental health. With regards to physical health, the majority of the children spend most of their time on the TV, indoor and video games by neglecting physical exercise. As a result, they become the victim of child obesity and visionary problems. In addition to this, children try to mimic the adventures of their superheroes at home and end up injuring themselves. For instance, In 2000, after watching the popular Indian fiction series called 'Shaktiman', most of the school children jumped from the skyscrapers with the hope that their superhero Shaktiman would come to rescue them. As far as the mental health of the children is concerned, exposure to the horror programmes at a tender age may scare a child and he may develop a phobia, which sometimes prolongs a whole life. At the same time, playing violent games such as PUB-G, where players kill each other in the virtual world with the guns may pave the way to destructive mindset and negative thinking. To address these problems, parents' involvement in their children's activities and regulating laws by government is imperative. It is the responsibility of the parents to keep a watchful eye on their children and the content they are watching. One way to execute this is to change the privacy settings of the TV channels in their absence. At the same time, they should also teach them to learn the difference between the real and the imaginary world. Parents should also encourage their children to participate in outdoor games and stay active in sports. As for the government role, the administration should restrict the time to broadcast the sensitive content at prime time and must anticipate the consequence of any show before broadcasting it on the television. This is how parents and government could work together to mitigate the aforementioned problems. In conclusion, there might have serious health hazards of some irrelevant content broadcasted on televisions, destructive video games and fun games played by the youngsters. Therefore, it is the respective duty of the parents and government authorities to supervise the children's activities and control the TV content.