Some believe that more academic subjects such as chemistry, physics and history should be taught in schools, while others believe that students will derive more benefit from studying practical subjects, such as motor mechanics and cooking. Discuss both views and provide your own opinion with relevant examples.

Nowadays, the question of whether students should learn academic subjects or vocational ones has been receiving a great deal of public attention. In my opinion, although learning vocational subjects is not without advantages, academic subjects will be far more considered. There are a bunch of reasons why students should study practical subjects. First, since today, pupils tend to support themselves and raise their families as soon as possible, having access to vocational courses is necessary. In fact, by learning practical subjects, students are equipped with practical skills as well as work experience without committing 4 years of college, which helps them make a living as soon as possible. Second, by attending vocational courses, students can become employees working as manual workers. It leads to a balance of the labour market in some developed countries where there is a lack of blue-collar worker such as Canada, Japan, etc. Nevertheless, the advantages of academic subjects such as chemistry, physics, and history will far overshadow the advantages of practical subjects. First, by learning these subjects, students can continue higher education. This means that they gain a wealth of knowledge to do research, which is conducive to human innovations and developments. Second, since most graduates expect to land decent jobs, academic courses are necessary. In fact, these subjects bring to learners fundamental theories to do complex jobs like doctor, teacher, and scientist which required deeper understanding about the nature of subjects, thus making them competitive in the labour market. In conclusion, the demand of academic subjects outweighs than of practical knowledge. By considering all advantages of both courses, students will make the best decision for themselves.