In some countries, secondary school aims to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which do you think is appropriate in today’s world?

While secondary schools provide a wide range of teaching materials, in some other countries, learning specific subjects is more advocated. I personally believe that being a jack of all trades will be more beneficial in the future career compared to a focused education in the early age. There are various reasons why dabbling many skills offers more advantages than being an expert in one particular subject. In the first place, people with many skills are often offered with more job opportunities compared to experts. For example, in my field of work, it is easier to train somebody than to recruit a domain expert. That being said, companies are facing challenges in recruiting a matching skill set of a particular domain. For instance, recruiting a replacement for a senior position is harder than promoting and grooming internal staffs. Students with broader knowledge have more options compared to the others. Many times these students have not found what they are truly passionate with, thus, committing to a career path may be too early for them. For example, many of us are now working on a different domain from what we learnt when we were younger. Had we known earlier, it would a great jumpstart, but that is not always the case. In summary, while focusing on a career path since young may give a great boost when joining the workforce, most of the time children only find their passion after they join the workforce. In light of this, having a general education is still appropriate for today's world.