In the modern world, the image (photograph or film) is becoming a more powerful way of communicating than the written word. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, photographing and filming are being favoured overwriting as a more powerful means of communication. Although such methods are fundamental, I disagree that they are predominating overwriting, as writing in itself is one of the most powerful methods of communication. This essay disagrees with the above statement. One of the most obvious advantages to the image is that it is a universal language. Photographers can tell stories throughout their pictures that can never be conveyed otherwise. For instance, people from all over the world can look at a picture and feel countless feelings without having to read a word. Similarly, movie directors can influence thousands of people with their films and communicate whatever messages they have in mind. The main reason why communicating through images is becoming increasingly popular and more influential nowadays is owing to technology and the internet. In highlighting, due to the widespread social networking sites that heavily rely on pictures like Instagram, more attention has been given to images and videos than ever before. On the other hand, the power of the written word cannot be denied, no matter what. Writers and poets could evoke emotions in the hearts of their readers with no visual aid for centuries. In other words, it is undeniably true that books can contain the hearts and souls of their writers. Additionally, those who favour reading often tend to have more creative imaginations and a deeper understanding of the world. Furthermore, communicating with other people in daily life is almost impossible without writing. To conclude, although photography and movies have their influence and strengths when it comes to communicating ideas, nothing can replace the importance of writing. No matter how the image impacts humans, the written word will always dominate over all other ways of communication.