Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passsenegr flights, ofte to holiday destinations. some people say that the governmanet should try to reduce the air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

Rising air-traffic is becoming a major cause of damage done to the environment in the form of noise pollution and huge constructions for airports. The major reason for this is the increased availability of cost effective flights to various destinations. Many people believe, government should intervene in this issue and should decrease the air traffic by imposing high taxes on the aviation industry and I agree with this idea and think taxing them heavily can result in a decrease in the adverse effects caused by them. Although, flying from one place to another has become very convenient and pocket friendly these days, it came with a cost, the levels of noise and air pollution has increased exponentially with the increase in frequency of flights connecting major cities. Flying to tourist destinations has become a common thing in the modern society due to the decrease in prices of the tickets, which attributes to the growth in the air-traffic. Thus, taxing the flight tickets more heavily can be a strong step towards combatting the situation. For example, only two flights were there connecting Hyderabad and Visakhapatnam a few years ago, one however, can easily find more than 14 planes round the clock between the two cities nowadays, this shows the depth and intensity of the situation we are facing. The increase in the number of people travelling on planes from one place to another has also increased the need for constructing newer airports in many places. Meanwhile, constructing an airport is far more dangerous to the planet than the planes itself, because it requires a lot area which has to be converted into a concrete jungle in order to house various buildings and structures required for the functioning of an airport. During this period a huge area is usually deforested, which usually has a grave impact on the nature, in addition to this there are many other ways in which the environment is polluted during the construction, like the usage of heavy machinery, tar, concrete and many more. For example, the number of functioning airports in the state of Andhra Pradesh, India were just 4 a few years back, but now there are 8 including which 3 are international airports In conclusion, I believe, we humans have damaged our planet enough and it is time to take all the necessary actions and precautions to save it from further destruction and, I think imposing heavy taxes on the aviation industry can be a step towards the betterment of the nature by decreasing the number of flights and airports used in the world.