Artists need a certain amount of freedom to develop their creativity. Some people think that artists should have total freedom to express any thoughts and ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A Work of art demands creativity of all kinds of artists no matter what fields they are in. According to some, artists ought to be completely free to show their thoughts and I disagree with it. The freedom of creativeness should be tied to the suitability to a specific culture and country’s condition. On the one hand, since art promotes images of a particular culture, it has to rely on the historical fact and unique feature of such matter. For example, when designing the beauty of a traditional Vietnamese costume, a designer can definitely not mix it up with the cheongsam coming from a Chinese culture. As a result, it helps audience avoid unnecessary misunderstanding towards a country’s history. Furthermore, artistic people such as singers or film producers, when having total freedom to express their ideas, might become bias when it comes to financial issues. In order words, wealthy sponsors might use money power to manipulate and force the film producers to create the products that somewhat reflect unsuitable concepts. Consequently, the outcome does not fully contain and deliver the spirit of such artist or even worse, go against the ideal of a particular country. On the other hand, through work of art, the artists are able to express feelings and personal opinions freely. However, there is a high chance that they unconsciously put their family’s lives in danger by showing the inappropriate opposition in a non-democratic country such as North Korea. In conclusion, the arts require certain level of freedom in creating, I do not agree that all artists ought to receive total liberty for creativity