Illiteracy has traditionally been viewed as largely a third world problem. However it is becoming apparent that in countries such as the USA and Australia, illiteracy is on the increase.

Illiteracy has not been a problem for most western countries ever since the spread of the public education system. It has traditionally been viewed as a problem for countries with limited resources to create a competent education system. However, in recent years, illiteracy has been rising in developed countries such as the United States and Australia. The following essay will examine some plausible causes, such as lack of funding and rise of poverty, and discuss some of its possible consequences on society. One possible explanation for the rise of illiteracy is the lack of funding. Without proper funding, it is impossible to give every students a competent education. It is known that in some parts of the US, educational systems are underfunded. If schools do not have enough resources to properly educate ever student, the quality of education students receive will be dramatically decreased. Another possible explanation if the rise of poverty in cities. Some parents simply do not have the financial means to support a child through school. Many kids who came from a impoverished background often end up with low paying jobs and addiction, and often forgets about even the most essential materials, such as reading and writing at a competent level. Of course, illiteracy is a serious threat for society. It significantly decreases the productivity of those who are affected. Those who are illiterate cannot preform high skilled jobs. For example, it would be impossible for someone who's illiterate to be promoted to a management position since those positions require an advanced level of comprehension. In conclusion, an increase illiteracy poses a big threat for the countries involved. If this trend is not reversed, the situation can become very serious.