With the development of social media, more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the Internet. What potential problems may this trend lead to? What solutions can you suggest to deal with it?

With the advent of technology, social media has become a source of socialization for most of the individuals in the society, irrespective of their age, culture or status. The youth is the prominent section of the association, whom the website has been conveniently available. This unrestricted usage of media can lead to various problems for which amicable solutions are discussed in this essay. The first and foremost problem can be that of access to various inappropriate comfortable available on the net, by the youngsters. This comfortably can, sometimes, leave a negative impact on the young mind, which can in the long run affect their overall personality development. It could also be detrimental in the character building of the young ones at the same duration leading them to take some immature decisions of their life. To elaborate, a person viewing porn content, could be vulnerable to committing a rape or any such crime which could not be acceptable in the society. His ability to analyse right or wrong, can definitely be affected by such content. Secondly, unsupervised access of the website leads to wastage of duration of unproductive work. The majority of people spend their quality time in front of their mobile phone chatting on social handles or browsing the numerous posts. This could be profitable for so called social sites, but increases the number of unemployed youth glued to the internet. The young people, instead of thinking about their future, waste precious time and money on the internet just liking certain posts or criticizing something thereby reducing their own creativity and productivity. One solution to such problem can be by providing sufficient job opportunities for the various sections of the association so that people do not time to waste on such unproductive work but can on the other hand think positively about their own life. Besides this, filtering of the internet content by the telecom companies can also be beneficial in eradicating such problem to a large extent. To conclude, social media, no doubt, is an important medium for keeping in touch with the outside world, but its optimal utilization can be done by accessing it for some fruitful purpose which is beneficial for the society as well as the individual using it.