In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

One of the most controversial issues today relates to the municipal budgets spent on railways. While some people argue that governments should spend large amounts of money on establishing new railway lines, others support the idea that the financial funds should be used for the promotion of current public transport. I consider that we should both establish new lines and promote existing transport. On the one hand, there are various reasons why it is essential to spend budgets on new railway lines. The primary reason is that setting up more railway lines will be considerably conducive to the development of the economy of certain cities. This is because these lines make it possible for people to travel from one city to another and thus improve the economic communication between cities. Subsequently, establishing these new lines can reduce the use of other environmentally harmful vehicles since they have no harmful effect on the environment. For example, people from one city are more likely to take the train rather than drive a car to another, which reduces exhaust gas emissions to some degree. Therefore, building new lines is both beneficial for economic development and environmental protection. On the other hand, I agree that it is also crucial for authorities to allocate their funds to the promotion of current public transport. Firstly, there is a large demand for improving their subway and bus, since people take these public transports every day. For instance, most of the residents in the city take the subway or bus to work or study and thus these facilities need to be promoted to satisfy local citizens' basic needs. Secondly, developing current public transport is also a good way to solve social issues, like traffic congestion. To take an example, with a better public transport system, more citizens probably will take the subway or bus and thus there will be fewer private cars on the street, which helps reduce the possibility of traffic congestion. In conclusion, I believe that governments should not only use their budgets on constructing new railway lines, but also spend them on promoting current public transport.