As air travel has become cheaper, more and more people are travelling abroad for their vacations instead of visiting places in their own country. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is generally acknowledged that travelling to different countries for vacation has become more and more popular as flight tickets are getting cheaper. Therefore, individuals visit local places less. While going abroad has several benefits, personally, I believe, they are both outnumbered and outweighed by the disadvantages. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon followed by my personal point of view. On the one hand, travelling outside of the country instead of visiting local places has numerous merits; chief among them, the fact that people can broaden their perspective due to seeing different cultures. This leads to having unique ideas resulting in being more productive in the workplace. As a consequence, companies, as well as the whole nation, can grow and develop faster. This has been evidenced by a number of academic studies the latest of which is one published by the University of Sydney in 2017 concluding that, 75 percent of travellers who prefer to go abroad have significantly different ideas to apply to their work, as they are able to see different perspectives while they are away. The study further shows that the companies which hire those employees contribute to the national growth more than others, as they get economically stronger with new ideas. On the other hand, going abroad for a holiday rather than going to a location inside of the country has innumerable undeniable demerits, the latest of which is losing the cultural identity owing to the fact that individuals do not know their own culture. If they would spend their vacation in cities of their country, they would learn their own roots. This creates value for national identity resultıng in carrying the heritage. According to the latest statistics released by the Heritage Committee of Russia in 2018, 88% of the Russian population know American culture better instead of their own, as they travel to the U.S a lot. Therefore, they are about to lose most of the local cultures such as making Matryoshka dolls, as no one visits those villages to learn. In conclusion, whereas having a vacation abroad due to cheaper flight tickets has several potential merits such as broaden individuals' perspective, they are undoubtedly eclipsed by the demerits which are losing the cultural heritage and not knowing their roots.