With the development of online communication, people will never be alone and will always be able to make new friends? To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the technological advances in the field of the internet, online communication has become one of the hottest topics. Many people believe that it will make loneliness go away from their life away as they can have more and more friends easily over the web. I partially agree with this statement. It connects people irrespective of the physical distance. It has provided communities with mediums such as Facebook, Twitter, etc., to connect with people of similar interests. Connecting with new people from different cultures, helps in broadening the mindset of the person, which further suffices the psychological needs. Moreover, it is easy to make friends with people of similar interests. Another benefit is that it keeps friends and family connected with the individual, even when he/she is overseas. For example, a student who has gone for higher studies to some other country, can connect with their families over Whatsapp, Twitter, Facebook, VoIP calls, etc., instantly. This instant connectivity will help the student to get the emotional support from family and feel better in times of need. However, I am contradictory of the view that no one will feel lonely. It is human to feel the need of physical proximity and have actual friends as well not just virtual ones. Any human mind needs people around physically, to grow and stay sane. For instance, a new born baby learns by watching parents, family friends, etc. The importance of face to face hearty conversations with friends and families cannot be neglected as it relieves the human mind of the worries. The advent of multiple social networking sites has made people addicted to them, therefore, there is very less or no time for actual communication with friends and family. In conclusion, I believe that online communication has indeed provided us with the opportunities to make new friends easily. But, this is not to be done at the cost of the actual friends who offer help in need. Hence, a good balance between actual and virtual friends is needed.