“Should smoking in public places be banned”? Give your views.

In the present era, smoking has become a trend, especially amongst the younger generation. It not only affects the smoker, but those around him as well. A large number of people speculate that this should be banned in public places and I completely support the idea in order to prevent its negative effects on both humans and nature. To begin with, smoking is much more harmful to the passive smokers than the person himself. When an individual lights up a cigarette in a populated place, he emits second -hand vapours which are then inhaled by the population around. These inhaled fumes have adverse effects on the respiratory system of women and children. According to scientific studies, passive smoking puts a person at twenty percent more risk. Furthermore, cigarettes also contain nicotine, which is not only cancer causing, but leads to severe health issues as well, such as heart attacks and asthma. Thus, it would be humane to stop this malpractice and let everyone enjoy a healthy life. In addition, smoking also aggravates the pollution which is one of the major issues being faced today globally. The emitted gases are an addition to the exhausts from vehicles and factories which further cause significant damage to the environment by depleting the ozone layer which is responsible for protecting us from the sun’s harmful UV rays. Moreover, the leftover buds pollute soil and water as they release harmful chemicals upon coming in contact with soil, which then seep down to get mixed with the underground water. Therefore, there is a greater deal to protect our mother nature from the jaws of these deadly parasites To sum up, smoking overall has constantly proved to be dangerous for both mankind and nature and it would be in the favour of humans to keep it away from densely populated areas and allow a private consumption only.