Many people think that job satisfaction is important in work. Do you think young people these days should be sure of job satisfaction before taking a new job or should they put salary first?

Being contended at workplace is considered to be significant by lots of people. However, in my opinion, I believe that youngsters should prefer monetary benefits that the new job is going to offer them, over the satisfaction at work due to various reasons. On the one hand, I can understand why a vast majority of people give significance to job satisfaction. They have reason to believe that firstly, contentment at workplace gives happiness to them, which leads to mental peace. These kinds of people are less prone to the problems like stress and high blood pressure. In a recent study by The Times, it has been proven that people, who are highly satisfied with their jobs, live a healthier and a longer life as compared to the people, who are not satisfied. Secondly, job satisfaction and productivity are directly and positively related. The more, the person is satisfied with the job, the higher is the productivity. Thus, job satisfaction leads to monetary benefits in the form of more wages and salaries as a result of increased productivity. On the other hand, I can understand why I believe monetary rewards to be a priority, for youngsters, over job satisfaction. One of the primary reasons for the same is the desire of young people to achieve their dreams. When a person first enters a new job, he has several dreams, for instance, a big car, own house, and it requires money to fulfil those desires. In addition to this, young age is the age to explore new opportunities and to gain maximum benefit of the same, which they are not able to do once they are settled or married in life. Hence, this is the time when they focus on the salary that job satisfaction. To conclude, while job satisfaction is significant to obtain mental peace and enhance productivity, I believe youngsters should focus on the monetary aspects of the job, because of the fulfilment of their dreams.