Nowadays people are spending more time in workplace and staying away from home for work. Discuss its advantage and disadvantages?

With the modernisation, most people work at offices for more hours as compared to their homes. Working for long hours at workplace raise their chances of professional growth and it also results in increased monthly income, but there are also some drawbacks to be taken into account. On the one hand, working for more hours offers many benefits to employees. Firstly, it increases their chances of faster growth as compared to other colleagues. Owing to increased business competition, every employer wants to gain competitive advantage over their rivals by delivering the products faster. Therefore, leaders like the employee who deliver the desired results or products before deadline. As a result, such employees get promotions faster and climb the success ladder in short span of time. Secondly, it allows people to increase their monthly as well as annual income. Many employers provide different perks such as food coupons and overtime allowances to their employees, who work for extra hours. On the other hand, spending more time at the workplace has some downsides too. One of the major problems is, people who keep their focus only on work become depressed over time. They usually don't get time to do exercises or follow any fitness regime. In a study, done by world health organization, it was found that people, who extend their working hours, get stressed easily as compared to others. Another possible issue is, these people get disconnected from their neighbourhood. They leave home early and reach late, therefore, they hardly get any chance to interact with their neighbours and society members. In conclusion, while there are some benefits of spending long hours in the workplace, it can also lead to increased stress and loss of connection with the community.