Some people think that people who choose a job early and keep doing it are more likely to get a satisfying career life than those who frequently change their jobs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief that a straight path to a fulfilling profession is to embark on a career and keep pursuing it steadily rather than to switch jobs often. I totally disagree with this opinion because it is quite a troublesome task to acquire new skills and a steep wage raise while occupying the same position for years. The main reason why I do not believe in the idea of a lifelong employment is because it provides limited opportunity to develop one’s skill set. Generally, employers, who are in a search for long-term staff members, are huge companies with established processes and job descriptions; therefore, they value steadiness over experiments and worker’s personal initiative, thus making it almost impossible for an employee to learn anything new. For instance, almost 6 out of 10 of all of the resigned IT specialists from the top-10 Russian banks decided to change their jobs due to a feeling of a professional stagnation. Another reason why I do not support the notion that a slow career tends to be more rewarding is due to its improbability to guarantee a high salary. Obviously, there are almost no reasons for a management of a company to rise a payment rate frequently for the same quality and amount of work; moreover, it is a more compelling option to hire experienced and qualified professional instead of investing in the training of current personnel. For example, a recent study, conducted by a major HR company, has shown that an income of a specialist, who change their occupation once a year, tends to be higher by 30% comparing to those who are more loyal. In conclusion, I completely disagree that those, who aspire to achieve a professional fulfilment, have to settle in one organisation for an extended period of time. Given this situation, it seems that more and more companies and professionals will acknowledge the benefits of a frequent place alteration.