Crime rate, in most countries, is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. Why do you think that is? What can be done to reduce the crime rate?

Crime rates in most countries markedly vary among different areas, which suggests different approaches in dealing with crime. Given that crime rate is higher in metropolitan areas than it is in rural ones, identifying the reasons behind this pattern is key to finding the solutions. There are a number of reasons why this pattern exists. First, since urban areas are more ethnically diverse than rural ones, the likelihood of conflict leading to crime among people with different values and belief systems is higher. For example, the greater lack of familiarity and mutual understanding among individuals in urban areas can feasibly get people into unnecessary fights, which potentially leads to crime. Second, since metropolitan areas are more densely populated, citizens have to compete for limited opportunities and scarce resources, leaving other individuals’ life at stake. This means that those who cannot compete with the other few successful would have a higher tendency to commit crimes, even petty ones, just to make a living. However, there are a great deal of solutions to diminish crime, in either big cities or rural areas. First, enforcing stricter punishments would act as a deterrent against the motivation to commit crime. Realizing that the costs of breaking a law were higher, every potential criminal would think twice. Second, since many offences can be traced back to the lack of understanding among people from different backgrounds, local officials should organize more sociocultural activities and gatherings to improve mutual relationships and resolve conflicts. For example, although Toronto is the most multicultural city in the world, crime rate is among the lowest thanks to such activities and cultural events. In conclusion, the fact that urban areas are more populous and diverse can explain the pattern. By focusing on the differences among people and the law, crime rates in either cities or rural areas would decline.