Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the intensely competitive business environment nowadays, advertising is such a powerful weapon enormously influencing our consumer habits. Much effective as it is, it seems one-sided without considering another important one to be the cause: our demand. Therefore, I only partly agree with the idea that advertising, instead of the society’s needs, is playing the main role in deciding what we buy. Because of the rapid development of businesses and corporations, we are now overwhelmed with the diversity of different products. Therefore, advertisement is the key factor which makes a product stand out, or attract us more than others. Advertising obviously boasts the advantages of the goods and centres on our psychological aspects, with the only aim to raise its trading volume. For example, most of the time we go shopping, we tend to pick up more than expected, or buy goods that later turns out unnecessary. That is because, we are easily attracted by goods that are advertised everywhere, or by what the sellers say about their products. We also like to buy products of well-known brands more than ones with no fame, which can be stated as a clear example of the economic power of advertisement. However, a popular consumer product will not become a household name if it is not what we need. Advertisement has the power to influence what we buy, but if we use and find out it is not at all like what they say about the product, and we cannot use it, then we will not buy it again. Only products that meet our society’s real needs will stay long with us and become popular. Otherwise, it will only be the trend for a short time, and then replaced by others. For example, each time a new smartphone is released and widely advertised, it is considered fashionable and modern to have one, so people follow the trend and buy it. But sooner or later, another new smartphone will steal the show, and the old one has now become out of fashion. In conclusion, it is undeniable that advertisement is extremely advantageous for companies to sell their products, but what the society truly need is also a crucial factor to take into consideration.