Some People think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Crime is like a cancer in modern times. Many people think that the government should keep a check on the lawlessness and provide its citizens with a safe environment. On the contrary, some people think that it is the personal responsibility of a person to keep themselves safe. I, however, believe that to curb lawlessness collective efforts from both the sides are required. On the one hand, some people believe that one's safety is in one's own hands. They give the argument that police forces cannot be present at every place all the time. For example, police cannot be present at every shop in the country, to safeguard it from getting robbed. Hence, individuals must install security cameras, theft alarms etc., in their shops. Also, people need to stay aware of their surroundings and latest occurrences in the world. For instance, many people use the internet for banking services. The internet offences such as identity theft etc., are on the increase these days. So, at the individual level people need to stay aware to keep themselves safe from identity theft etc. On the contrary, the other section of people believes that the administration must provide facilities to safeguard its people. They are with the view that safety from offences is one of the fundamental facilities that must be provided by the government to all its taxpayers. Firstly, the administration can set up multiple police stations in the reach of its people, so that they can report any misconduct noticed or experienced by them. Secondly, it should frame stringent laws, to prevent anyone from committing crime and if it is committed, then criminals pay well for their offensive deeds. As an example, the middle eastern countries have set up very strict laws and therefore, they have the lowest crime rate in the world. To conclude, to curb the lawlessness, it is necessary to take action at both individual and administration levels. Every possible offence cannot be eliminated at individual level and vice-versa.