Today, more and more students are deciding to move to another country for their studies. Do you think this is causing more good than harm for the home countries?

Students moving out of the shores of their native countries for studying purposes had been on the increase in recent times. In my opinion, I think this action poses more danger as its cause a decline in the educational sector as well as a huge economic loss to their home country. Firstly, educational tourism results in the neglect of the academic institution due to students immigrating for foreign studies, this will in turn reduce the total turn out of students in these schools. This could discourage funding from government and international donor agencies who are only motivated to support schools with the large student turnout. For instance, only universities with at least 10000 students are eligible for UNICEF annual grants. Furthermore, academic tourism could also result into the brain drain of the best students who most times prefers to stay back in the countries of studies for jobs and better opportunities. Another point to consider that academic tourism results in a drastic reduction in the economy of the departing countries, as millions of dollars are spent annually on tuition fees, accommodation and travel expenses by foreign students. This huge amount is significantly sufficient to upgrade and develop tertiary institutions in the home countries of these students. For example, the Nigerian Ministry of Education estimated that about 13 million dollars was spent on studying overseas in the last quarter of 2019, this huge amount if injected into the economy is not only enough to upgrade about 13 major Universities in Nigeria but will also create about 6000 direct and indirect employment. In conclusion, in as much as there are merits to studying overseas, I think the demerits such as higher institution abandonment and lose of valuable incomes to the home countries overshadows these advantages.