Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or to work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Kazakh said, "person who knows more languages has more souls". There are multiple benefits to learning a foreign language. Of course, work and travel are definitely good reasons to learn a foreign language, but those are not the only reasons to be bilingual or multilingual. Learning a second or third language benefits the learner in so many ways. Studies survey has shown that bilingual or multilingual people are smarter than monolingual people. Through learning a foreign language, we can increase our brain development. Moreover, research has even shown that learning a foreign language can delay the onset of memory ailments like dementia. Another advantage of learning a foreign language allows us to learn more about the culture associated with that language. Language and culture are intrinsically linked. Actually, The most important benefit of learning a foreign language is to enrich your cultural knowledge. This will not only help you understand the new culture, but it will also help you look at your own culture from another angle. In addition, many original novels are not native languages. Of course, translations are available but they will never beat the original. Also, in this age of the internet, people who are fluent in a foreign language can find work as translators or interpreters within their country itself. They do not necessarily have to go abroad to use their knowledge of international languages. To conclude, considering all the points mentioned above it is not hard to see that travelling to a foreign country or working in a foreign home are not the only reasons to learn a foreign language. Actually, there are many other equally compelling reasons to learn a second or third language and in this age of globalization people get plenty of opportunities to use their foreign language skills within their country itself.