Increasing car usage in many large global cities has caused a number of problems. Some cities have proposed banning private vehicles from the city centre. To what extent do you agree?

It has been observed in recent years that the number of adults using cars as a daily transport mode is increasing. Hence, this has caused many problems, especially in large cities such as accidents and pollution. So, it has been proposed that excluding private vehicles from the city centre may help to reduce this issue. In my opinion, I believe that it is very essential to adopt public transport as the only mode in the city centre. On one hand, many people are moving from the countryside to the larger cities for different purposes such as working and studying. As a result, the number of cars is increasing and thus accidents are becoming more frequent, which is very dangerous. For example, it is known that people drive fast in the morning to be at work, which reduces their reaction time while driving. On the other hand, pollution in one of the main concerns of modern large cities affects the public health. Cars and transportation in general are enlarging this problem. The chemical released into the air from cars, especially in traffic, in very harmful for health. For example, it has been released by the US that New York city air in very polluted due to the fact that 85% or the NY population are using their personal vehicles every day. In conclusion, reducing the number of vehicles circulating in the streets is very a important steps, toward solving transport related problems in large cities and there are undoubtedly many benefits to having such thing in any society.