The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Undoubtedly, these days, it is often argued that government spends a large part of its budget not only on art, but also on public service. I fully agree with this fact that although art is considerable for people, administrations must spend all their money on social services. In turn, this essay will discuss why spending in public service is more significant than that of different kinds of art such as music and theatre. On the one hand, the more countries spend their budget on social service, the safer people can live. That is to say that a lot of countries in the world have not even a safe road and consequently, people who live in these countries are not able to travel easily and safely, thus government officials of these states must not spend their budget on art. There are a lot of people, who are every year died in unsecured roads. For instance, in the first two months of 2019, 22 percent of dead individuals in the world were related to the unsecured roads. In my opinion, people’ life is much more important than art, which is not necessary for persons living. On the other hand, the more governments assign their budget to the public service, the healthier people live. Some people declare that increased public service such as general hygiene can reduce the amount of mortality. Hence, social facilities must be considered as the main necessity in the world. However, this does not mean that the arts should be completely neglected. To summarize, some people are of the opinion that art and social services should be considered equally, while others are opposed to this view. I am sure that art is more like a laughable joke when basic necessity is not available.