Some people argue that job satisfaction is more important than job security, while others believe that they cannot always expect job satisfaction, and a permanent job is more important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People often wrangle over the notion of a perfect job in contemporary society. While some are in favour of a job for life, I believe that job satisfaction lends itself more to the modern labour market as will now be discussed. Admittedly, those who argue that job security is an important factor have some solid points. A permanent job gives its holders a sense of security, meaning that no matter how the quality of work, they will wake up the next day safe in the knowledge that they are in a state of employment. This may free them from financial worries and anxiety, because they can rest assured that a constant flow of income will come into their home at the end of the day. The idea of a steady job is therefore attractive to many job seekers, but they should factor in the rapid growth of technology in this digital era. I profoundly believe that the notion of a “safe” job is wrong, given the fact that technology has been replacing innumerable human workers in many industries. It is thus more sensible to argue for job fulfilment instead. When an employee does their dream job, they tend to make real efforts to accomplish work rather than waiting for someone else to push them. They are likely to yield higher productivity and willing to learn new things to improve themselves, all of which contribute to their career growth. Those who find their jobs worth doing tend to have the drive to work and advance fast on their career path. A typical example of this is the case story of Bill Gates, who devoted much of his youth to Microsoft and turned it into a behemoth in the IT industry. In conclusion, the world is always in a constant state of flux. Thus, it is no longer reasonable to hold on a permanent job even if it can give a sense of security to us.