Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosphy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximize the chances of employment. To what extent do you agre or disagree?

Employability is the key factor that determines the growth of a nation. Due to the increase in university fees and the decrease in employment opportunities, people say that universities should offer professional degree courses which will grow the chances of employment rather than offering arts subjects like philosophy and history. This essay will argue that why I strongly disagree that the courses offered by the colleges will have nothing to do with the rate of employment and rising fees. The predominant factor in unemployment would be the quality of graduates that the universities produce. In spite of dropping out arts degrees, if the universities increase the standard of education provided reasonable to the fees paid, apparently the quality of the students will go high which will enable them to meet the higher levels set by the industry. For example, if a student doesn't meet the eligibility criteria provided by a company for an interview, then he won't even get a chance to showcase his talents. Hence the universities should higher the level of education provided by them, so that students can easily ace the job process to get employed. Another concern to the given statement is the opinion that universities should teach only practical degrees, instead of arts subjects, which could maximize the chances of employment. If those subjects are suspended, then the resource demand in the respective domains will eventually increase, which cannot help any way to tackle the unemployability crisis. A research says that the number of students who undergo non technical courses like history, philosophy, archaeology etc.., is very low when compared to the number of students who pursue technical studies. Hence this will result in emerging a new problem rather than solving the existing one. This essay argued why not teaching arts subjects won't be an effective solution to increase the employablity rate. In my opinion, increasing the education standard rather than the fees can possibly hike the employment opportunities.