Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

In this modern world, many people are reckoned to think that travelling to remote areas is a better experience, while some differ with it. In this essay, I will discuss both merits and demerits of such an approach along with the relevant examples. On the one hand, travelling to such places can be a whole new experience for anyone, as one can get away from the humdrum and feel relaxed and peaceful. For example, it is getting quite common for people to travel to the Himalayas to meditate and gain inner peace, as compared to the crowded tourist places. Secondly, a lot of people love to experience challenges and difficult conditions. This is because, they are not able to pursue that in their daily routine life. For instance, many people from desk jobs love to trek mountains as they don't get enough physical activity during the week. If they don't pursue such challenges, they would eventually get bored of their monotonous life. On the other hand, visiting such places can have a lot of negatives as well. One of the major disadvantages is the connectivity issue in case of an emergency. This is because, such places are usually in remote areas and have less towers resulting in transportation and communication problems. For example, according to a recent study, if someone gets hurt in the Sahara desert, it would take 3 days to provide enough medication. Moreover, such extreme weather conditions are not good for health as well, as our body can only adapt to an environment up to a certain extent. In conclusion, even though, visiting extreme and remote locations can be adventurous and soothing for one's soul, it is important to consider the health and connectivity issues that might arise due to travelling to such locations.