Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the current shortage of skilful workers. Some people state that we should encourage more people to do vocational education, while others believe that academic study is the better choice for most students. I mainly agree with the former view for the following reasons. First, it is clear that the majority of knowledge which vocational training provide focus on practical skills. This means that students do not have to learn general subjects so they can shorten their study time, but could also get a comprehensive pack of necessary insights for their careers. As a result, they will enter the workplace much sooner than those attending universities. In other words, vocational education can help graduates become more competitive in the job market. Moreover, vocational training could become the key to the lack of qualified workforce question. Currently, many projects have been slow down due to the insufficiency of labours, especially for the electricity system and water system. In contrast to the limited demand of the academic workforce, skilful labours are always in high demand in all countries. That is not to say that vocational education will be suitable for every student. Those students who want to become academic-related jobs like doctors or teachers will find academic study is suitable. But still, doing vocational training is a good option for most students. In conclusion, vocational pursuits should be promoted, which can help guarantee a high rate of employment, and thus help the governments solve the dilemma of a skilful worker shortage. Meanwhile, there are still some particular jobs that need to have general knowledge from universities.