There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home. This is because computer technology is more accessible and cheaper. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

More and more people such as workers or pupils are opting-in to work from home concept. In my opinion, I think this is a positive development as it allows the user flexibility, financial viability and an increase in efficiency. One of the main reasons where people would opt-in for work from home concept is due to the flexible hours it provides. In other words, many organisations, especially permits their workers to login to the company network, usually through a secure Virtual Private Network (VPN) and work during a time they are most comfortable with. This not only allows the workers such as mothers or employees with disabilities to work with flexibility, but also gives them the option to complete their household chores and attend to work. Whereas, prior to this technology this was never possible and the employees were compelled to take a short or a full-day of leave. Another point to consider would be the efficiency and the cheaper price involved. To put it differently, with the technological advancements more and more of students all over the world are signing up for university programmes such as distance learning. Many of the students globally are under heavy financial constraints, especially with the higher tuition costs. With the help of distance learning, now they are able to attend virtual classes at a significantly lower price and also the time and the expenses involved in daily travelling the university has been wiped-out. For instance, I was able to complete my bachelor's degree from an Australian university while I was living in Sri Lanka at a much cheaper price. It would have not been possible if it was not for such technology. In conclusion, although traditional methods of working or learning is still the trend, distance learning or working from home has many benefits and can be considered as a positive trend.